Jan 06, 2021 7:39 PM

KSHSAA Announces Sub-State Groupings

Posted Jan 06, 2021 7:39 PM

TOPEKA, Kan. - Due to the Coronavirus pandemic the Kansas State High School Activities Association announced changes to the class 6A post season basketball format. 

As part of the changes, eight sub-state pools of either four or five schools in each "pod," have been created. 

Locally, the Junction City High School Blue Jays and Manhattan High School Indians have been placed together in the Topeka-Washburn Rural Sub-State also including Lawrence Free State, and Topeka High School. 

From the KSHA site: " Classes 4A, 5A and 6A will be grouped geographically into groups of four or five schools. The groups that have 5 teams will play the #4 vs. #5 seed game on Saturday, February 27. Semi-final games will be played on Tuesday, March 2 and Wednesday, March 3 at the higher seeded team. Finals will be played on Friday, March 5 and Saturday, March 6.
State quarterfinal games will be played on Monday, March 8 and Tuesday, March 9 at school sites. Four teams will advance to the state sites."